Lord Crimson

Wisdom from the Realm

Eternity and Beyond – Part I

with 2 comments

The concept of time we know as eternity is staggering, especially since we tend to measure life in mere years. Since all of us will one day take that last voyage into the great beyond it only makes sense to spend a little time pondering how our decisions on this side will effect our life in the other.

The most obvious place to begin my quest for the ultimate truth is to simply observe my surroundings. From the stars in the sky, to life on earth, there is a balance or symmetry that screams out an intelligent design that simply can’t be mistaken for chance. Search as I may, I can find only one plausible explanation for how this happened. Remembering the fact that He has already claimed credit for the Creation, I must conclude that God does exist and is the author of the universe.

Now that I have concluded that God does exist I must discover how to get his attention. Let’s face it a deity powerful enough to create a universe is a good friend to have. The next logical step is to turn towards religion, but which one? After a brief search I quickly determine that this direction is a big mistake. There are just too many religions and at this stage of the quest is a one lane highway to confusion. So, what do I do now? I know, why not go to the source; the ultimate book befitting the ultimate quest. The owners manual for the human race inspired by God himself. OK, where is that book, ahh here it is. The New American Standard should do nicely.

After a little light reading I discover that God has a Son, and that through Him is the only way to get God’s attention. OK this is good, a personal recommendation from God himself. But being the one for detail I must ask what makes this Son more important than the focus of all the many religions out there? It turns out that God’s Son is the only one in the bunch that actually came back to life after being dead for three days. Impressive, most impressive. The added benefit is that there were witnesses that took the time to write it down.

So, we have God and we have his Son, Christ, Jesus Christ which has been granted a license to save. But what exactly am I being saved from? Well it seems there are two paths in the afterlife. One leads to an eternal life of peace and tranquility which requires accepting the gift of salvation. The second path leads to eternal suffering which is happened upon by doing nothing or rejecting the gift. Well, this is an interesting turn of events. I guess to put it in perspective it’s like you’re swimming around in a lake, get a cramp and slowly begin to drown. You’re tossed a life preserver and discover you have a choice to make. Take the gift and live, or reject it and drown.

Now, at this point I don’t pretend to understand why this is the way it is, but the overall picture is becoming clear. God assures that there will be eternal life after we snuff it here on earth. The path I choose via the gift of salvation will determine how pleasant or horrible my eternal existence will be. Well, this is certainly a lot to think about, so I take my leave and will do so.

I will continue my quest for the ultimate truth in Eternity and Beyond – Part II.

Written by Lord Crimson

April 4, 2007 at 2:24 pm

Posted in Christianity, Religion

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. About 3 years ago I dropped into a black hole – four months of absolute terror. I wanted to end my life, but somehow [Holy Spirit], I reached out to a friend who took me to hospital. I had three visits [hospital] in four months – I actually thought I was in hell. I imagine I was going through some sort of metamorphosis [mental, physical & spiritual]. I had been seeing a therapist [1994] on a regular basis, up until this point in time. I actually thought I would be locked away – but the hospital staff was very supportive [I had no control over my process]. I was released from hospital 16th September 1994, but my fear, pain & shame had only subsided a little. I remember this particular morning waking up [home] & my process would start up again [fear, pain, & shame]. No one could help me, not even my therapist [I was terrified]. I asked Jesus Christ to have mercy on me & forgive me my sins. Slowly, all my fear has dissipated & I believe Jesus delivered me from my “psychological prison.” I am a practicing Catholic & the Holy Spirit is my friend & strength; every day since then has been a joy & blessing. I deserve to go to hell for the life I have led, but Jesus through His sacrifice on the cross, delivered me from my inequities. John 3: 8, John 15: 26, are verses I can relate to, organically. He’s a real person who is with me all the time. I have so much joy & peace in my life, today, after a childhood spent in orphanages [England & Australia]. God LOVES me so much. Fear, pain, & shame, are no longer my constant companions. I just wanted to share my experience with you [Luke 8: 16 – 17].

    Peace Be With You
    Micky

    Micky

    May 3, 2007 at 12:28 pm

  2. Hi Micky – Welcome to the Realm

    Thanks for taking the time to relate your story. Success stories are always welcome and are a pleasure to read.

    In the beginning, believing in Christ is very difficult because we are expected to believe things that seem impossible. We are asked to take what can only be termed a leap of faith. The funny thing about it is after you do, you wonder what took so long.

    Lord Crimson

    Lord Crimson

    May 3, 2007 at 5:43 pm


Leave a Reply

