Lord Crimson

Wisdom from the Realm

Eternity and Beyond – Part III

with 19 comments

The sun just went behind a cloud as I contemplate eternity and the things of God. Over past days I have accumulated information that should be more than enough to make a decision, but yet there is something missing. Since I began my search for the ultimate truth, it’s been like a war of good and evil raging inside my head. A voice gnaws at my soul, constantly whispering that my discoveries are false. That I have acquired tales from long ago that just as easily could rate up there with today’s science fiction or fantasy stories. I now face a constant barrage of empty reasons and false persuasions of why I should not continue.

Day turns into night and the sun is replaced by what seems like a million stars on a black background. I imagine the face of God among the glimmers of light and what can only be described as desperation call out, “What do you want from me?” Anyone passing would have thought me mad and over the past few days I fear that they may have been right. For I am just a man trying to understand the mind and ways of God.

Reluctantly, I form another question, “How can I be sure that Christianity is truth?” I don’t know what I expected, but suddenly an answer popped into my head. To say I was stunned would be an understatement. I could not turn my eyes away from a face that now seemed more real than what could be conjured by my imagination. I could try and come up with an explanation, but the one thing I could not mistake is that I now held the final piece of the puzzle.

The piece of the puzzle that I required was, no, not a miracle, but something in it’s small and everyday sort of way proof that what I had discovered was indeed the truth. I was stunned because the answer was hidden in what I had witnessed countless times, but only now possess the ability to recognize it for what it truly is. I remember this angelic conflict that is going on in the background along with what Satan is trying to accomplish and suddenly things of this earth begin to make sense. Simple observation is all that is required.

Why is every religion on the planet protected from ridicule except for one? Where can you go on the entire planet that an effort is not in place to erased it from everyday life? What holds the distinct position for many in the world to spit upon it at their leisure and rejoice at having done so? Why are those that follow Him the most scorned among the earth? And the most important observation is why is the patriarch of peace, love and sacrifice so hated that many make it their mission to corrupt and dismiss His existence with lies?

I need no more proof, for what I must do is as clear as an azure sky on an October day. I accept Christ and the gift of salvation so that I may one day walk into eternity by way of the first path. Yesterday is gone and my heart has been given a home. Today, I gaze into the sky as the sun moves from behind a cloud. All I can think of is what a nice day to begin again.

Written by Lord Crimson

April 12, 2007 at 1:58 pm

Posted in Christianity, Religion

19 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi LC,

    I’ve been following this series of post with some interest. As an atheist, well, perhaps more of an agnostic, but if you say that the preachers keep harping at you, this sort of thing has plagued me for years. I will skip the details, but my decision on religion is to wait until God, gods, or the Great Spirit get a chance to explain it to me directly. Until then, I do my best to lead a good life, eve without the threat of eternal damnation. A gamble I know, but a reasoned one. If I go first and have the chance, I’ll let you know how it turns out.

    the Grit

    the Grit

    April 12, 2007 at 8:05 pm

  2. Hi Grit

    There is definitely a lesson here. It’s one of those things that you are glad you did and are equally glad that it’s over. From now on I will be more careful in what truths I choose to pursue. The next time I will select something less demanding like understanding nuclear fission or women.

    Lord Crimson

    Lord Crimson

    April 12, 2007 at 11:03 pm

  3. What an incredible blessing your entry was for me! God is so good and it is SO refreshing to happen upon someone who has only just been adopted into the family of Christ. So, welcome to the family and thanks for documenting your journey!

    In Him, miracleshappen (add yourself to the evidence!)

    miracleshappen

    April 13, 2007 at 12:34 am

  4. Hi m – Welcome to the Realm

    Thank you for your kind words. I’ve always been fascinated in trying to figure out why things are the way they are. This one kind of got away from me, but in a good way.

    Lord Crimson

    Lord Crimson

    April 13, 2007 at 2:14 am

  5. Hi LC,

    Please do not constrain your selection of topics. Having started my college career as a nuclear engineering student, I have a fair understanding of fission. However, I am always open to any one who has insight into the ways of women!

    As to the twit remark, I stick up for my friends with great vigor. Anyone who wants to test me can bring it.

    the Grit

    the Grit

    April 13, 2007 at 11:31 pm

  6. Hi Grit

    I’m afraid understanding women will remain a mystery, at least to me. I’ve been married for lets just say a long time and still can’t seem to find the help manual.

    Yeah, tld closed down the thread when it was just getting good. These young kids just don’t know how to have fun.

    Lord Crimson

    Lord Crimson

    April 14, 2007 at 12:00 am

  7. great post!

    mommyzabs

    April 15, 2007 at 11:30 pm

  8. Hi mz – Welcome to the Realm

    Thanks. I thought that it might be an interesting topic and hopefully made it somewhat interesting.

    Lord Crimson

    Lord Crimson

    April 16, 2007 at 1:39 am

  9. Indeed Crimson, welcome to the family. 🙂

    And yes, understanding women is the hardest pursuit in this world…lol.

    totaltransformation

    April 16, 2007 at 4:31 pm

  10. Hi tt

    Thanks.

    Hint about women:

    Flowers usually lead to trouble because it invites her to wonder what you have done wrong. A wise man always thinks chocolate. 😉

    Lord Crimson

    Lord Crimson

    April 16, 2007 at 8:20 pm

  11. “A wise man always thinks chocolate.”

    A wise man might reconsider that lest his woman accuse his of trying to make her fat and showing no concern about her weight issues (even if she looks gorgeous and has no apparent weight issues). lol.

    totaltransformation

    April 16, 2007 at 8:30 pm

  12. LC –
    What a thought evoking post.
    One thing is that you can cheer up, many religions were criticised and are open to criticism, and not just Christianity. Criticism if done in a spirit to improve the debate, to make an idea sharper is not always a bad thing. Remember, Martin Luther and his 95 Theses! What a moment when criticism was brought to the only religion in town, and how many have enjoyed a fuller walk in life and in what lies ahead due to that vital act of criticism.

    Socrates was ordered to die for speaking against the “gods of the City”.

    Jesus never scorned a critic, even remained silent when Pilate offered his statement of contempt upon him, “What is truth”. Sometimes accepting and defending against criticism is needed, sometimes it must lead to growth, other times one just must be silent and reflect, or stand firm in a held belief.

    Doubt is one of the ways we know we are striving towards a new height and goal, and though it cause much spiritual grief, consider the new levels of understanding that it brings to those who persevere, and openly evaluate and self assess.

    avoiceofreason

    April 17, 2007 at 5:07 am

  13. hmmm….

    missed reference to my own blog here.

    I know… I have a tendency to close things down when I get frustrated by, as Grit calls them, twits. Otherwise I end up completely turning them off to Christianity by insulting them.

    As to the post itself, excellently said. Forgive me for being dense, but did this just happen recently? Or is it a tale of the past you tell?

    Either way, it’s good to know you are in the kingdom.

    also… will you still be posting?

    thelonedrifter

    April 18, 2007 at 4:37 am

  14. Excellent post. That is another element of evidence for Christianity. I rarely see anyone rail against Hinduism, for example, despite its various flaws.

    Keep ’em coming!

    Neil

    April 18, 2007 at 1:35 pm

  15. Hi avoiceofreason

    When dealing with spiritual matters I’m not sure how we can not doubt in the beginning. We are asked to believe some pretty amazing things. I will probably never understand many aspects of Christianity, but when I do discover something new it makes it all the more real and exciting.

    Lord Crimson

    Lord Crimson

    April 19, 2007 at 11:03 am

  16. Hi tld

    I understand you shutting down when you did and you were quite right to do so. I just find it great fun when the Grit gets going on certain issues.

    I chose to write this series of posts in the style of real time in an effort to make it interesting enough anyone would want to read it. Yes, I had already made the decision before I wrote the first post otherwise I doubt it would have occurred to me to write anything about this at all.

    Lord Crimson

    Lord Crimson

    April 19, 2007 at 12:05 pm

  17. Hi Neal

    Thanks. I’m finding the waters are deep, but so far it has been an exciting experience.

    Lord Crimson

    Lord Crimson

    April 19, 2007 at 12:09 pm

  18. Awesome! I’m a Christian too and I was reading some of your muslim posts and I was thinking “Is this guy a muslim”? But then I got to these posts and I realized you’re a Christian. Please visit my website spreadingthegospel.wordpress.com

    bean202

    February 26, 2008 at 3:37 pm

  19. Hi bean202 – Welcome

    Thanks and I look forward to visiting your site.

    Lord Crimson

    Lord Crimson

    February 26, 2008 at 4:52 pm


Leave a Reply

