Lord Crimson

Wisdom from the Realm

The French Sacrifice Cars for New Years

with 8 comments

FrenchCarBurnings

2008 has arrived with it’s usual fanfare and once again the world watches with amazement at how the French choose to conduct their New Year’s celebration. For some reason the automobile has become a part of the festivities and now tops the list as the most endangered species in France.

It’s no secret that cars burn quite regularly in France, but this year the police are baffled at the relative calm claiming that only 372 cars were hunted down and killed. It’s amazing what you can get use to over time. To the casual observer, it’s viewed as a strange ritual and one must wonder what offense the automobile has perpetrated to warrant such treatment.

This year, the French police were said to have stepped up their presence in anticipation of the year-end celebrations and the sale of petrol in cans was banned in some places. Oops… I guess someone planned ahead.

As the flames danced into the night you would think it was the middle east. Granted, France is not the middle east, but it’s becoming much more difficult to distinguish the difference. How frustrating it must be to pay appeasement money to Islamic invaders and they don’t stay appeased? I would say that there’s a lesson to be had from this, and if learned and acted upon, the 372 will not have died in vain.

Bonne Chance Mes Amis!

Written by Lord Crimson

January 3, 2008 at 5:10 pm

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. More than paying appeasement money to Isalmic terrorists; how about the French “reign of terror” on religion in general (be it Islam, Christianity, Judaism, Hindu, etc.). They propogate agnostic and atheistic fundamentalism the way Usama propogates Islam.

    Jason

    January 3, 2008 at 5:37 pm

  2. Hi Jason

    The French are discovering that appeasement simply provides more time for invaders to become stronger and more entrenched. I can only imagine how tough it is to get good car insurance. Sadly, the French aren’t the only western nation to fall into this trap.

    You are right about France’s reign of terror on religion. Atheism is a lonely business and a way of life I would hate to espouse. However, it does help explain some of the perils burning around them.

    Where is Usama… OK, you don’t know either, but I had to ask. đŸ™‚

    Lord Crimson

    Lord Crimson

    January 3, 2008 at 6:27 pm

  3. And they turn up their noses at our lack of civilization… because we actually have PEACEFUL freedom.

    washedandforgiven

    January 3, 2008 at 9:03 pm

  4. Hi waf

    Lack of civilization… well one man’s water is another man’s wine. It’s true that many French feel that way, but fortunately there are still a few old-timers that remember they would be speaking German had it not been for our civilization.

    Of course we would be speaking English had they not helped us during the American Revolution… hey wait… what happened?

    Lord Crimson

    Lord Crimson

    January 3, 2008 at 10:54 pm

  5. Hi LC,

    It could be worse, such as in Pakistan where they sacrifice trains in much the same way. Also, it should be noted that those are mostly French made cars they’re burning , which could be seen as an act of kindness, putting the poorly made vehicles out of their misery, instead of allowing them to continue their humiliation existence as some of the worst cars ever made.

    As to where Osama is, I post semi-regular updates on that every time my usually unreliable source sends me photographic evidence. Last I heard, with no visual confirmation, he was wintering in Tahiti, which is surprisingly sane for such a lunatic.

    Oh, and don’t forget the old saying that England and America are two countries separated by a common language.

    the Grit

    the Grit

    January 4, 2008 at 9:30 pm

  6. Hi Grit

    Yes the French car… I hardily agree with you. Maybe that’s why the police said only 372… they were hoping for more. The French highways are now safer so maybe there is more to this than I first thought.

    That slippery Osama, that scamp. I hear Oliver Stone is hanging out there so Tahiti sounds about right. Could there be a movie in the works? Watch out for that shadowy figure behind the palm tree.

    England, land of my ancestors. I’ve often wondered how different my life would be had they not bailed. They were probably tired of the warm beer and were searching for a place with ice. It may also explain my sometimes uncontrollable urge for fish and chips.

    Lord Crimson

    Lord Crimson

    January 4, 2008 at 10:49 pm

  7. Hi LC,

    I fully understand about the longing for fish and chips. The earliest mention of my family name in the New World is from the late 1600s when a pair of brothers set sail from an English port. I do suspect, however, that they were actually Scottish lads who had managed to get into a bit of trouble, and, after changing their names, were in the process of escaping the long arm of the law. There is, as far as I can tell, no other logical explanation for Scotch whiskey being my favorite beverage, my natural aptitude for both golf and fly fishing, and, most tellingly, my fondness for bagpipe music. If only I was stout enough to toss a caber my suspicions about my bloodline would be undoubtedly true. Although, I have on occasion thrown a hammer, but only after missing the nail and whacking my thumb. Still, even without proof positive I cling to my belief as to my ancestry, since without it explaining my frequent urges to strip naked, paint myself blue, and pillage the neighbors would be most difficult.

    the Grit

    the Grit

    January 5, 2008 at 8:50 pm

  8. Hi Grit

    I hear trouble was easily found on the island, so I suspect that if I searched hard enough I would discover my story would be very similar to yours.

    Golf is a biggie in my family except of course with me. I prefer playing tennis which shamed my father to no end. I must admit the urge to strip naked, paint myself blue has never occurred to me until this moment. I’ll have to give that some thought… that could work on my next trip to the football stadium.

    Lord Crimson

    Lord Crimson

    January 5, 2008 at 10:51 pm


Leave a Reply

