Lord Crimson

Wisdom from the Realm

I’m Done With The News

with 14 comments

News

I refuse to watch the news anymore. Why you ask? Because it’s a puke inducing joke! Have you ever watched these news anchors sitting around in the morning, giggling, cracking jokes like it’s the Tonight Show. If only they could slip in one more commercial they could officially change their name to the advertisement channel.

I can’t even get real news anymore. When I wake up in the morning I don’t want to hear some news jerk giving me breaking news report about some pop-tart on an emotional roller-coaster ride of self-destruction. That is not news!

Then I turn over to some world news channel like CNN or BBC which provides more of a global view. That sucks too! All the stories you hear have this idiotic slant to it where they try to place the blame for every problem in the world on America. All these international news organizations can kiss my royal scepter.

Exaggerating… Am I?

Another thing I hate is foreign news reports on how poor a third world country is. They start hinting on how America is not sending over any support. Then when we do, that country just takes the money then complains that it’s not enough. Then the news tells the rest of the world that America is a bunch of cheap capitalist.

Am I right? I am the oracle of the universe and would not lead you astray. Please drop another quarter in the slot… Thanks.

These people can continue to eat their own limbs for all I care. Let them live in the stone age and eat from their own miserable plate of ungratefulness.

OK, I’m done… I can only complain so much…. I’m done, I’m done with the news!

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It sounds like you’re sick of politics, not the news. Yes, most mainstream media is a joke, particularly Fox News; but serious news outlets (NPR, BBC, CNN) certainly are not. Merging the two is easy, but there’s big differences.

    “These people can continue to eat their own limbs for all I care.” A little dramatic, but I see your point. Figuring out how much to send/not to send is all politics–in which case, everyone has an opinion.

    Shauna

    January 7, 2008 at 3:51 pm

  2. Hi Shauna

    No, it’s the presentation of the news and what a few organizations in their great wisdom (pause for affect… cough cough) decide how the rest of us should think. Stories tweaked and manipulated just so as to get as many sheep as possible into the same pasture.

    I must respectively disagree as NPR, BBC, and CNN all suck. They place a political spin on most all news which I find particularly disturbing because most news is just news and not related to politics at all.

    Sending money to poor countries is a sign of compassion for others. When the recipient fails to respond with a thank you but instead complains that it’s not enough… well hopefully you can see where things have gone horribly wrong.

    Lord Crimson

    Lord Crimson

    January 7, 2008 at 4:15 pm

  3. I thought I could trust Fox until this election cycle, but some of the stunts they’ve pulled have been just as low as everyone else. I, too, am finished with the news. From now on I shall read all sources with just as skeptical an eye, and make my own decisions.

    washedandforgiven

    January 7, 2008 at 6:16 pm

  4. Hi WAF

    I was once of the same mind as you about FOX. However, after viewing for a while with a critical eye I quickly realized that they are just rounding up different sheep into a different pasture than the CNN’s of the world.

    It appears that all are in the brainwashing business of one form or another. Otherwise we would be getting more news and less commentary. As you know commentary is just a fancy way of saying this is how you sheep are suppose to think about a particular news item or you’re stupid.

    Lord Crimson

    Lord Crimson

    January 7, 2008 at 6:37 pm

  5. Hi LC,

    Personally, I like the FOX morning show. Not that I consider it a news program, but it’s mild enough to be comforting background noise during the consumption of my first mug of coffee or three. Beyond that, I find it useful to leave on in case something interesting happens. Not that I trust them to be as fair and balanced as they claim, although they come closer than the others, but, unlike some major news papers, I still try to find multiple sources on items that may be important. This is why the Internet is such a boon, since the hours I used to spend at the library comparing different reports in different papers can now be spent at home doing the same thing where I can smoke and drink.

    As to the rest of your well reasoned rant, that’s the price we pay for capitalism. Yes, it does suck at times, but the alternative of a single Government run news source sucks even harder. Speaking of sucking, now you’ve got me to wondering what we’d call our news agency if we took that path! Capitalist News Network? Free Opinions eXpressed?

    the Grit

    the Grit

    January 7, 2008 at 10:17 pm

  6. Eh, Grit. You gotta point there. Free market is MUCH better, and if the government ever tried to take over the news, that would be a fight worth fighting.

    washedandforgiven

    January 7, 2008 at 10:28 pm

  7. Hi Grit

    I have never been able to watch news for long periods of time mainly because I don’t want that much negative and repetitive information entering my brain. Life is tough enough without worrying about the next Fox News Alert where a lady saves 5 ducks from a storm drain.

    The people on the internet have much more interesting things to say and although commercials exist, they are usually less intrusive if you have a pop-up blocker.

    Hi WAF

    I agree, the free market is the way to go and nothing has ever come along that has proven to be any better for the people and the economy.

    Lord Crimson

    Lord Crimson

    January 7, 2008 at 11:49 pm

  8. Hi WAF,

    Clean your guns and check your ammunition because, if the liberals win this year, that’s coming, at least in practice. The new version of The Fairness Doctrine will force all news outlets to only parrot the official Government handouts or face immediate and crippling lawsuits by the ACLU while leaving the facade that we still have a free press, proving that even liberals can learn from the mistakes of others.

    Hi LC,

    Fortunately, during my years of Government service and during far too many meaningless meeting working for the private sector I developed the ability to subconsciously filter out the nonsense and only pay attention when something interesting is mentioned. If evolution works as claimed, everyone will have this ability eventually.

    the Grit

    the Grit

    January 8, 2008 at 10:19 pm

  9. Hi Grit

    Thankfully most of the male population has this ability to filter out the nonsense which I like to call wife-muting. I believe that it’s safe to say that this feature from the factory has saved the lives of countless wives. You can always spot who has a defective wife-mute as that is who usually ends up on the news.

    Lord Crimson

    Lord Crimson

    January 9, 2008 at 11:53 am

  10. Hi LC

    🙂

    the Grit

    the Grit

    January 9, 2008 at 9:24 pm

  11. Hi LC,
    What is this wife muting you speak of?! 😉

    Regardless, it does seem that mostly negative news is reported, and that does get old. Also, I hate the commentary too. Basically, they are just saying that we’re to stupid to draw our own conclusions, therefore, they’ll draw them for us. Not for me thanks.

    Sunflower Desert

    January 13, 2008 at 11:38 pm

  12. Hi Tammi

    The wife-muting feature is a wonderful standard feature that allows the male to tune-out the nag factor which can be found in many females of our species.

    This nag factor is said to reach it’s peak after a golden band and diamond is inserted on the third finger and remains there for several months. This is a phenomenon yet unexplained as is the reduced sex sub-feature that usually accompanies it. 8)

    Lord Crimson

    January 14, 2008 at 11:47 am

  13. Hi LC,

    Well put.

    Hi Tammi,

    The only thing LC left out is that the female of our species is not able to detect this phenomenon. It’s some sort of genetically linked psychological blindness or something. Best I can tell from the literature, it’s closely related to the female’s need to ask trick questions like, “Do these pants make my ass look big?” or “Does this dress make me look fat?” I’m sure all of these quirks have some sort of survival benefit which, but for the evolutionary traits of the male of our species that prevent us from understanding the female, I would, at this point, explain.

    the Grit

    the Grit

    January 14, 2008 at 11:08 pm

  14. Lol! I’d forgotten that I left a comment here. Here’s to hoping your wives are reading. 😉

    No explanation needed Grit … I’ve got the inside track on this one. 🙂

    Have a good week you two goofs.

    Sunflower Desert

    January 21, 2008 at 5:39 am


Leave a Reply

