Lord Crimson

Wisdom from the Realm

Motorcyclist Caught Driving 144 MPH

with 5 comments

Having the pleasure of riding a motorcycle for many years I can with certainty say this guy is lucky to be alive.

A motorcyclist clocked by state police driving 144 miles-an-hour in a 55 mile-an-hour zone in New York’s Putnam County faces having his license suspended.

The state police in Brewster said the motorcycle driven by 21-year-old David Puchalski, of Carmel, was stopped at 6:30 p.m. Wednesday at I-84 in the town of Southeast. The driver was clocked going 89 miles-an-hour higher than the posted speed limit.

The driver was freed pending a July 8th appearance in Southeast Court.

State Police Sgt. Ted Daley said that speeding more than 40-miles-an-hour higher than the posted speed limit results in 11 points being charged against the driver’s license, which automatically results in a suspension.

Because you have the talent to handle a bike at this speed doesn’t mean you should. You can never fully anticipate the odd animal or car pulling out in front of you and the resulting mess to follow. Puchalski should immediately sell his bike and not consider another until he is 30. I’ve been told that, at least for some, it’s the age when common sense overrides the stupidity gene.

My question now is how fast was the state police car going to catch this guy and shouldn’t he also receive a ticket for excessive speed? Just a thought.

Written by Lord Crimson

June 28, 2008 at 2:12 pm

Posted in Life, News, Travel

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi LC,

    You don’t have to be young to be reckless. When I was in college, a friend of the family was clocked by Arkansas State Police at 160 MPH while returning along I-40 from a business trip in his Porsche 928. He was 50 at the time. Interestingly enough, he wasn’t intentionally speeding, but just didn’t notice he was going that fast. He bought his way out of it, but said it was VERY expensive. The police, by the way, pursued him at high speed, but weren’t capable of catching up with him, and had to resort to dispatching units ahead of him to block the road.

    On the other hand, I, once, 30 years ago, drove a Shelby Cobra at speeds in excess of 200 MPH at three in the morning on a nice long stretch of back road. Very exhilarating, if you live. Fortunately, the only things we hit were insects which, at that speed, sound like gun shots when they explode on the windshield.

    the Grit

    the Grit

    June 28, 2008 at 6:15 pm

  2. In my experience, recklessness can be found in all age groups. If you are lucky enough to survive these speeds on a motorcycle, it’s out of your system and the smart ones don’t do it again.

    Talking about the sound of bugs on the windshield reminds me of the joys of taking a direct hit from a low flying bumble bee at 70 mph. I can only conclude that at 144 it’s pretty much over.

    Lord Crimson

    June 28, 2008 at 7:08 pm

  3. Hi LC,

    I suspect you are correct on the living through the recklessness phase aspect. Of course, for me at least, it took 40+ years to get there, assuming that I have gotten it all out of my system. My most recent dangerous adventure was, ten years or so ago, when the company employing me moved to down town Memphis. This made my commute much shorter, 15 versus 20 miles with a much more direct route. Having recently purchased a new and, reasonably sporty car, at that time I found it great fun to time my morning drive time with an eye toward making it as short as possible. My best was, on one of those occasions when I had to go in at midnight to fix something someone else had screwed up, ten minutes from the end of my driveway to the entrance of the parking garage.

    These days, now that I have aged a bit, I’ve slowed down somewhat. Currently, I’m thrilled when I can get my tractor up to 15 MPH from it’s usual top end of 14 MPH. Dang but I’m getting old!

    the Grit

    the Grit

    June 30, 2008 at 9:27 pm

  4. I’m nearly 30, have been riding for over 10 years and *still* have the occasional ‘wild hair up my a$$’ as my pops would say. I ride 125 miles a day to and from work (mileage and gas prices are why I’m on the bike) – and am amazed at how easy it is to go so dangerously fast on a motorbike. I try to stay under 85 and usually keep it at 75 to 80 on the 65mph freeways, thusly not passing too many vehicles. Most of the time, I actually get pasted by cars. There are a few nice curves on my commute that get me watching my speedo a bit closer – God protects me in spite of my (rare) stupidity. God is good. Yes, Jesus is good…

    Blessings,
    (bs.)

    bs.

    July 21, 2008 at 4:21 pm

  5. Hi bs,

    The problem is not with your need for speed, but with over population which has made the roads much too crowded. Heck, back in the early 70s when my parents finally trusted me behind the wheel on an Interstate trip, their instructions were to put the cruse control on 100 mph and keep the Lincoln Town Car in the right hand lane as much as possible. Then they took a nap. While that first run was a white knuckle drive, there wasn’t enough traffic to matter and, in retrospect, it was probably as safe as flying today, and we made better time. Glory days.

    the Grit

    the Grit

    July 21, 2008 at 6:15 pm


Leave a Reply

