Lord Crimson

Wisdom from the Realm

Wrong National Anthem – Shade of Things to Come

with 5 comments

Picture the faces of the Denver Mayor, city officials and onlookers who attended the annual State of the City address as the national anthem touched every ear. Oh wait, did I forget to mention that the national anthem never made an appearance. Instead, “Lift Ev’ry Voice and Sing” the “black national anthem” was performed as a replacement and an indicator of the shade of things to come.

Now can you picture their faces during this substitute performance?

City Council President Michael Hancock introduced singer Rene Marie to perform the national anthem. When she finished, the audience responded with mild applause. Marie kept her plans to switch songs quiet until the very last moment. She says only she, her husband and a friend knew she was going to sing something other than the “Star-Spangled Banner.”

“When I decided to sing my version, what was going on in my head was: ‘I want to express how I feel about living in the United States, as a black woman, as a black person,'” said Marie.

When asked if he was offended, Mayor Hickenlooper said, “You know I was more confused and I think I was more – what I was, was disappointed and confused and that’s why I wanted to talk to her.”

City Councilman Charlie Brown took to talk radio Tuesday afternoon to criticize the absence of the national anthem at the State of the City proceedings.

“There is no substitute for the national anthem, period,” Brown said. “And that’s what really bothered me. You know when we fly the flag, the American flag, it’s always the highest flag, as it should be. And that didn’t come across today, that didn’t happen today.”

In hindsight, both Brown and Hickenlooper say they should have stopped Marie or began singing themselves.

Marie says if she had the benefit of doing it over, she would sing the same song.

When asked if she would apologize for what happened she said, “No I do not.”

After a steady diet of liberal hate for the country, I gotta ask, “Why is anyone surprised when this happens?” I suppose the bright side to this, if there is one, is the joy of seeing a liberal get poked in the eye by his own sharp stick.

Written by Lord Crimson

July 2, 2008 at 1:32 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi LC,

    I saw that story this morning, but hadn’t decided what to do with it until I read your post. Now I’m thinking that a bit of design work aimed at developing a “black national flag” may be in order. For that matter, I think a few state flags may need some updating while I’m at it.

    the Grit

    the Grit

    July 2, 2008 at 3:50 pm

  2. The most priceless statement in all of this is –

    “In hindsight, both Brown and Hickenlooper say they should have stopped Marie or began singing themselves.”

    Yeah right – like that was ever gonna happen! 🙂

    The only people in danger of discovering spine in the gutless town of Denver is someone enjoying a tasty piece of fried chicken. You can bet that he/she would have been dragged from the event by a hoard of seething greenies.

    Lord Crimson

    July 2, 2008 at 5:00 pm

  3. […] Some seem to think that this will become the order of the day: separate national anthems within the U.S. […]

  4. Is it just me? Or is focusing only on race causing division in our great nation? Stupid people are those who cannot see past the color of skin. I speak of the DemonRats.

    Sunflower Desert

    July 2, 2008 at 10:15 pm

  5. Hi Tammi,

    It’s not just you.

    the Grit

    the Grit

    July 3, 2008 at 6:24 pm


Leave a Reply

