Lord Crimson

Wisdom from the Realm

Star Trek

with 5 comments

startrek

As a fan of the original Star Trek, I look forward with great anticipation to the latest installment. It’s nice to see the original characters back in action, brought to life by a mostly unknown cast of actors.

The original choice to play Captain Kirk was Matt Damon, but that travesty would have guaranteed my money going elsewhere. I don’t know who Chris Pine is, but I know for a fact that he is a much better choice for the iconic role than Damon.

kahn3Star Trek has gone through many ups and downs and truth be told there hasn’t been a Star Trek movie worth mentioning since, “Star Trek II: The Wrath of Kahn.” I don’t expect this one to reach that pinnacle, but anything close will be welcome.

Pass the popcorn and Romulan ale and let the adventure begin.

Written by Lord Crimson

May 2, 2009 at 2:06 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Kahn Rocks! making him a tough act to follow.

    The new Star Trek story begins with some type of Back to the Future style timeline change and the birth of James Kirk. Since everything following is based on this new timeline fix, I just hope they found a way to make it true to the original or it will be just another wasted opportunity.

    ronin

    May 3, 2009 at 8:55 am

    • I feel the same way, Ronin. I wrote an article about my specific concerns regarding your, aptly put, “Back to the Future” style timeline change on the Star Trek universe.

      If you’re interested, check it out at http://www.captainsstarblog.wordpress.com.

      mattrashid

      May 3, 2009 at 12:45 pm

      • Nicely done! Your preview was great, and thanks for not spilling too much information. I especially like the picture of Nero and side reference to “Invasion of the Body Snatchers.” The ship is wrong?- no, don’t tell me.

        I’m ready- bring on Star Trek!

        ronin

        May 3, 2009 at 1:50 pm

  2. This new Star Trek has a chance to make the grade, but I will withhold judgment until seeing it. I’ve been disappointed before.

    Bretal

    May 3, 2009 at 10:49 am

  3. Now you’ve got me excited about seeing the new Star Trek. Like others I hope it will be good and not a bitter disappointment like my ex-wife who didn’t care for Star Trek.

    tigerpaw

    May 3, 2009 at 3:10 pm


Leave a Reply

